The Ten Commandments Overview

I. The Ten Commands are identified as the twin focus of our love, "the two pillars of the law" (Matthew 22:40).

A. The "First Love" is identified by the first four commandments.

1. God is to be held in first esteem (Psalm 86:8-10).

2. God is not to be physically represented (Acts 17:24-29).

3. God is not to be carelessly spoken of (Leviticus 19:12).

4. God is to be worshipped and honored on the Rest day  (Exodus 20:9-11; Psalm 92).

5. This love for God is to be with our total being (Mark 12:28-30).

a. Our heart must love God (Deuteronomy 5:29).
b. Our soul must love God (Deuteronomy 4:9).
c. Our mind must love God (I Peter 1:13-16).
d. Our strength must love God (Psalm 109:30; 112:1; 119:167).

 6. This love for God manifests itself in a clear behavior pattern.

a. We will love God's house (Psalm 84:1-12; Hebrews 10:22-25).
b. We will love God's people (John 13:34-35; I John 4:7-21).
c. We will love God's work (John 15:14-16; I Corinthians 4:1-7).
d. We will love God's word (2 Timothy 3:14-4:4; Psalm 19:7-11).

B. The "Second Love" is the love we have for our neighbor and is ordained as a summary of human relationships (Leviticus 19:18).

1. It is fulfilling of the law (Romans 13:8-10).

2. It is the expression of service to others (Gal 5:13-14).

C. This love is expressed by the last six commandments.

1. We are to be in submission to human authority.(Exodus 20:12).

a. This primary focus is on the family (Ephesians 6:1-3).
b. This insists on an honor and respect (Deuteronomy 27:16).
c. This requires submission to the commandments of God (Deuteronomy 5:16, 29-32).
d. This requires submission to authority vested in secular authorities (I Peter 2:13-18).
e. This requires submission to authority vested in church leaders (Hebrews 13:17).

2. We are to forbear from personal vengeance (Exodus 20:13).

a. The primary focus is on murder (Numbers 35:9-34).
b. The basis for murder is hatred (Deuteronomy 19:11).
c. The hatred of a brother is murder (I John 3:15; Matthew 5:21-22).
d. The harboring or nursing of anger, bitterness, or malice is murder (Ephesians 4:31-32).

3. We are to keep fidelity in the family relationships (Exodus 20:14).

a. The primary focus is on sexual integrity (Leviticus 20:10-16)
b. The obvious application includes premarital relationships (I Corinthians 6:13-18).
c. The mental lust which originates overt sin is forbidden (Matthew 5:28; I Peter 2:11).
d. The spiritual adultery of false worship is forbidden (James 4:4; I Peter 2:14).

4. We are to honor the property of others (Exodus 20:15).

a. The primary focus is on the theft of property (Exodus 22:1-15).
b. The dishonest conduct in business or employment is forbidden (Leviticus 19:13;35-37; Ephesians 6:5-8).
c. The dishonesty of personal affairs is forbidden  (Matthew 22:17-21; I Corinthians 6:1-8; Isaiah 1:23).
d. The payment to God of 10% of our increase is demanded (Malachi 3:8-10).

5. We are to promote integrity in communication (Exodus 20:16).

a. The primary focus is on good relationships with a close associate (Zechariah 8:16-17).
b. The extension includes flattery (Psalm 12:1-3).
c. The extension includes harmful and deceptive jokes (Proverbs 26:18-19; Ephesians 5:4).
d. The extension includes slander, gossip, and tale bearing (Psalm 101:5; Proverbs 26:20-22; Leviticus 19:16).

6. We are to abstain from selfish desires (Exodus 20:17).

a. The primary focus is on delight in creature comfort (Numbers 11:4; Joshua 7:5-26; Psalm 106:13-15).
b. The greediness for riches is forbidden (I Tim 6:9-10; Proverbs 15:27).
c. The self-centered self-protective mind set is forbidden (Ezekiel 33:30-31; Luke 16:13-15; 2 Timothy 4:3).
d. The demand is that we delight in spiritual gifts and activities (1 Corinthians 12:31; James 1:5-6; Matthew 6:33).
The Ten Commandments


Living in His Light and His Love

A Life of Loving God's Word in Psalm 119

The Power and Perseverance of Grace

A New You and a New Life

A series of lessons on chapters 1-11 of Genesis

The People and Power of Christ

A series of lessons on the lives of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Joseph

A series on the book of Revelation

Loving God and Loving Others in Exodus 20

Go to top